On the Hunt


This past weekend was the first in the archery season for deer. So, my buddy and I grabbed some arrows and headed out to grab us some animals. This was my first time hunting non-humans. Let me tell you- damn deer are crafty. I actually managed to find one and stalk it for a bit (I don’t believe in using a blind), but the Department of Natural Resources was out widening the trails with chainsaws, so needless to say, every animal within a mile bolted. That’s the danger of hunting on State land, I guess. The mid-season also opened for goose and duck, which was also not fun. Some very un-conscientious goose hunters were firing all willy-nilly, and we got shot at twice, once even having bird-shot raining down from above in our tree.

Now that the weekend is over, I remember why I got out of the military; no, not the getting shot at part, but damn are my joints sore. Of course, this marked the first time I ever poured a libation to Artemis. While that may come across as odd, I’ve never felt the need or compulsion to offer to her individually; every time I simply cover her worship under the onus of “the Gods”. I’m not sure how to feel about that though. While it follows that folks only regularly paid homage to the gods that held the most sway over their lives, part of me feels like she should get more honor from me out of principle. It also highlights the pitfalls of being closely tied to one god.

5 comments on “On the Hunt

  1. ladyimbrium says:

    Damn deer are crafty little buggers alright. But oh so tasty.

  2. 3countylaugh says:

    I know there are those just as slavishly devoted to her too. It depends on your reading of the Iliad, she can certainly be considered war related too, as you said hunting man is still hunting. The book The War That Killed Achilles makes some interesting points to that effect.
    Good luck with your deer.

  3. M. Shaffer says:

    I understand what you mean about suddenly felling a connection to Artemis. It is interesting how as we grow we find the other gods of the Pantheon reaching out to us wanting attention too. I have always considered Athena my patron goddess but here lately I find my self feeling the need to recognize the other gods that are influencing my life, such as Artemis for guarding my daughter, and Hephaestus for guiding my husband’s career.

    • pthelms says:

      It’s not so much a connection as a feeling of “about f**king time you paid attention”. ๐Ÿ˜›

      • M. Shaffer says:

        ๐Ÿ™‚ I was trying to be all intellectual about it, but yeah sometimes they are about as subtle as getting hit with a sledgehammer. By the way I love your blog, you always have something interesting to say. Can’t wait to read more of your stuff!

Leave a Reply

