Gratitude


Every spring, my college throws a banquet honoring the English tutors and the recipients of various English-related scholarships and prizes. Because of this, we tutors are required to create a biography and what I like to call an “I love me” sheet listing our accomplishments.

I personally have always had a hard time patting myself on the back. Due to an odd mix of ego and false humility (I either see my achievements as no big deal or as simply common enough not to matter), I don’t think about what I’ve done, only what I want to do. Ambition is a bitch like that, I guess. I submitted my list, and my boss sent it back telling me I left off too much (because she knows, I apparently can’t get away with it).

However, I began combing through the last couple years’ worth of documentation, work I’ve completed, etc. and found that perhaps I’ve done something. Yesterday, the Hephaestos anthology was published (go get a copy!) and my photo graces the back cover (thanks to Rebecca Buchanan for liking it so much). I also got to speak to a few of the (who I consider) bigger names in paganism today on a radio show, and it was nice to hear how my writing has affected them. In the last year or so, I’ve been published both in our religious community (He Epistole namely) as well as at school. I’ve even helped to create a new course at my college. So, I guess I did do some stuff.

However, I haven’t done all of that alone. I wouldn’t have submitted photos or prayers or any of that if it hadn’t been for Ares or you, the readers who care, pushing me or inspiring me to git ‘er done. So thank you. You have my gratitude for keeping me going, even if I don’t think I’ve done anything to deserve your continued reading/giving a f**k. There are better authors out there, better poets, better scholars, and much, MUCH nicer people out there that deserve your attention and praise.

3 comments on “Gratitude

  1. nhandy12 says:

    Great Blog there Peter, I’ve got a “rite of Hephaestus ” in the anthology too 🙂 can’t wait to get the book !

  2. ladyimbrium says:

    Nicer people, maybe, but they don’t worship lords of war very often so what good would it do me to pay much attention to them?

  3. You have original, valuable things to say. I really feel like in the last year or so that voice has matured and you’ve grown more comfortable with it. I look forward to seeing many awesome things from you in the future.

Leave a Reply

