Still Alive


I promise, I am! I’m just finishing up finals for my winter semester and graduating and all. Doesn’t leave much room for writing sometimes.

Speaking of writing, I’ve come to a big decision regarding my book–or books rather. I’ve decided to split what I have into two separate volumes: one for philosophy/theology-type stuff, and another purely for cultus. I came to this conclusion following my first earnest prayer for divination. I asked Ares for a sign, and lo, I saw two woodpecker’s holes in the same tree while on a garlic mustard pull. I confirmed my interpretation by asking Dionysos through Sannion.

However, even in light of this, I’m staying away from the gods for a while. I’m all sorts of covered with miasma; My dog gave birth a week ago, but we unfortunately lost the puppy. We guess that mom didn’t produce enough milk and we didn’t catch it until it was too late. So, not only do I have birth miasma, I also have death miasma :-/ . Such is life.

Anyway, I have a few half-baked posts in the works, on such topics as leadership and followership. but I’m not sure how far we’ll get; I can’t do thinks piecemeal or I’ll drop them.

4 comments on “Still Alive

  1. Aj / Melia says:

    My condolences. I wouldn’t have thought that animal death applies to miasma though…

    Congratulations on graduating.

    • pthelms says:

      Different groups thought differently; the stoics didn’t care, but Pythagoreans considered them on par with people because of reincarnation. I figure I’d go for the middle ground.

      Also, thanks. It’s just a lib arts associate; I’m beginning one in fine arts so I can improve my artwork (especially sculpture). Then it’s off to finish the BA and law school. I don’t mind being a professional student though 😛

  2. ladyimbrium says:

    I’m sorry about the puppy. And no such thing as “just” a degree. It’s proof of hard work and dedication. Sounds like you’ve got a lot planned out. Good luck 🙂

  3. J_Agathokles says:

    My condolences for the loss of your puppy.

    In any case, dogs aren’t just animals or mere pets, they’re family members. So I’d also assume it brings miasma with it that requires katharmos.

Leave a Reply

