Poetry Entry 10: Secrets of Ares


Teach me to master rage, and route my enemies,
You who have been blinded by fury, yet have still focused on victory.

Teach me to look upon injustice, and vanquish it, for
You who have slain rapists without regard for the personal cost.

Teach me to love with passion, not the cold aloofness of modern man.
You whose desires have always been honestly expressed.

Ares, teach me your secrets!
The forthrightness of a spear-thrust.
The bellow that makes your feelings clear.
The understanding that actions have consequences,
But when action is needed, no price is too high to pay.

Teach me your secret, god of war,
And my spoils are offered to you in turn.

 

***

By T.P.W.

Leave a Reply

