Going Silent


Some of you may have read Sannion’s post about going silent for a month as a manner of protest. Now, I never really got into the silly hero debate because I thought it was silly. I do really like the idea of intentionally going off-line for a month though.

That being said, you won’t hear from me in July. That is, unless anyone wants to go old-school and exchange letters and (dare I say) actual photos and whatnot. It’s be like emali or Facebook, except it would be real. That could help build real community. Besides, I have epic crafting plans I need to fulfill, like starting my sword. I’ve also designed a lyre and Dionysos wants a crown. With all the time I waste on Facebook and such gone, too, I can focus more on reading and writing my books.  It really should be good fun. 

Feel free to message me on Facebook or e-mail me if you feel like being pen-pals, and I encourage you to consider joining in the silence. 

14 comments on “Going Silent

  1. This is fucking brilliant. I would be honored to be polytheist pen pals with you, were you so inclined. I think this is exactly the direction we as a community should be taking things. Slow it down a bit. Foster real connection with each other.

  2. ladyimbrium says:

    This is brilliant. It might be a good thing for all of us, no matter what the reason.

    • pthelms says:

      I would have done Dver’s week of silence at the beginning of June had I not been at the final (read voting) stages of my contest. But hey, if me as a devoted carnivore can commit to going vegetarian for a month and a half, no Internet for 2/3 that time should be a piece of cake. I’m also really looking forward to getting mail that isn’t a bill 😉

  3. […] participating — as well as those of you who are not — I think Pete Helms had a wonderful suggestion. Sometimes the old ways are […]

  4. Sarenth says:

    I think this is a really cool idea! I’m game.

  5. Aj / Melia says:

    I probably won’t be going purposely silent but with my son home on summer break I hope to spend very little time at the computer. I love getting mail, whether electronic or snail. Even if it is just a postcard. I would be pleased to exchange addresses with anyone interested.

  6. M.A. Rivera says:

    Hey, that’s a very cool idea. I’ve no idea who the hell I’d be pen pals with but it’s still a cool idea. Blessings.

  7. Poppy says:

    Hi! I stumbled across your blog tonight, and I’d love to strike up a conversation over snail, if you are interested! I am a hard polytheist devoted to Hera, but I enjoying learning more about all the Olympians. Please email me know if you would welcome another pen pal. Be well, Poppy

  8. wynndark says:

    Well there won’t be much going silent on my blog, it’s currently really rather dead for now as it is, but I would be most pleased to get myself back into actually hand writting letters as a fellow polytheist pen pal. Since my e-mail is not easily accessed via wordpress it is WynnDarkSeas at gmail dot com, send me your prefered address and I’ll do the same. May the Theoi bless you and yours.

  9. […] anderen erklären den Juli zum Monat der Stille. Hellenisten waren das hauptsächlich. Aspis of Ares oder das House of Vines […]

Leave a Reply

