Mostly Untitled


So hey, July is over. Yeah… I have no idea what to do now. July was pretty nice. Well, except where I wanted the interwebs. Sometimes I’d break, often absentmindedly. It really highlighted how integral it is to my daily life, and not necessarily in a good way.

For the most part, the items on my list didn’t get touched. I did do some design work, and some art (if anyone wants some prints, let me know’I’ll post those later). I didn’t do any reading or writing. I also haven’t completed the prized for my agon winners, because I’m a butt. I did redesign them however, but more on that in a minute. The letter writing went well, and I do feel like I got to know a few of the people whose material I read. I even received a few more addresses after the fact, and the letter writing will not end with the end of July.

I did receive some big ideas from the Mousai over the break. The first was while I was designing my own festival calendar (which didn’t go very far, as I had no idea what day it was on the lunar calendar). It just popped up: a Xenia festival. I’m not big on holidays, so I’m not sure if one even exists, but if not, I think it might be a good add to the liturgy. For me, the festival would include recognizing various folks’ accomplishments, symbolically (and hopefully actually) ending feuds and  offering reconciliation, and sacrifices to Zeus Xenios, stuff like that. Another idea/opportunity I happened upon was to begin selling my work in order to open a public shrine to Ares and to contribute to the opening of others around the country. To that end, I’ve been buying up supplies to begin casting in pewter and modeling up forms in clay. I have four pieces modeled for casting in porcelain even: a bust of Ares, a relief of Ares, and copies of the agon pieces for my winners, which will be exclusively theirs for at least a year. In addition, I begin my non-metal sculpture class in three weeks and will begin working in stone and other materials. While my focus is very Ares-centric for the moment, I will branch out. The end goal is to build up an inventory and start selling on Etsy and at my local metaphysical convention, Convocation, starting in 2015. So yeah.

Let’s see, what else happened? Aphrodite now has a separate shrine in my room. It occurred to me that I should treat her a little more nicely if I want so much of her. Sannion was asked to fill in as a co-host  on  Wyrd Ways Radio (which airs the first and third Wednesday of each month at 10:00pm EST [tomorrow]), and has asked me to be a guest in September. Ares and some other gods have been sowing a little chaos here in Detroit, where if you’ve been living under a rock and haven’t heard yet, has declared bankruptcy after a 40-year decline. It’s really bad, because the city has survived  war, fire, and riots; you’d think politics would be a breeze to overcome. Oh well. I did have a good time visiting the Detroit Institute of Art, and I took plenty of pictures of the amphorae, coins, and statues, including some armor, a few vases depicting warriors (one may be Ares, it’s really hard to pick him out if the vase isn’t explicit) and one with Aphrodite, Hermes, and Hera. Unfortunately the exhibit is rather small, so there wasn’t much to see, but the awe is the same. There is also a life-size rendition of Ares/War in one of Rembrant’s paintings, and some cool, ancient Babylonian/other Middle Eastern reliefs I got photos of which I’ll share later.

Well, I guess that’s all I have for now. Hope you all had a nice July. Hail Ares!

2 comments on “Mostly Untitled

  1. Drekfletch says:

    For what it’s worth:

    I’ve adapted secular NewYearsDay into something similar to your Xenia festival. The Eve is when the year dies/is born, when bonds are broken by change. The Day begins with a purification after the death/birth of the night before, and ends with a feast to bring people back together. To re-establish bonds.

    (The Eve is also a time of gift-giving, either in sympathy with the old Year disbursing his wealth, or symbolically for the new Year to start with abundance.)

    That’s tied to the modern civic calendar, so who knows if it’s something you can use with your lunar one.

  2. […] and Not Here. I’m Back From Sabbatical. Roaring Into Silence. Mostly Untitled. Rebirth in Silence. What I’ve been up […]

Leave a Reply

