5 & 6 Metageitnion


So I missed yesterday’s libation in the frenzy of cleaning that hit my home for today’s city inspection, therefore I preformed both Ares’ and Artemis’ today. However, it did give me the opportunity to move some things around, clean out some miasma, and hang a few pictures above my shrine. Aphrodite even got her own offering dish. I need to glaze/paint a few more I have waiting in the ceramics lab over the next couple days, but I should be doing okay.

Finally over my cold for the most part. I have to blow my nose once or twice, and I get a tickle in my throat here or there, but it’s all good. In fact, I think they’re more symptoms of the cold outside than the lingering effects of the one inside me. Seriously though, it’s August, when MI is supposed to be in the 90s, and here we are at low 70s with the possibility of dipping into the 40s over night. At the very least there’s no drought this year; we’re already 5″ above average for the year, and fall isn’t even technically here, let alone winter and her snows.

Now, it’s only been a week of doing these libations, and I tell you what, I haven’t had a week this good in a while. There’s been flirting, an offer for a free suit (and expensive one, too, and boy do I love suits), an invitation to join Phi Theta Kappa, and I even found a dollar under my bed yesterday. Tell you what kids, forget pot, forget swag and YOLO and all that crap-get religion, That’s the stuff right there. There’s a reason science routinely tells us that religious people are happier. The secularists can argue any community affiliation can help raise happiness levels, but none do so consistently as religion, especially the really, really involved folks like the Amish or Mormons. This is also important in a country where there is a lot of hostility towards and among religions, both from the government and society at large. You can even see it in our community, especially against monotheism. I digress, this supposed to be a happy post.

Any way you want to look at it, giving to the gods is good. To paraphrase Pascal, reciprocity pays serious dividends. Go invest something, and hail Ares!

One comment on “5 & 6 Metageitnion

  1. M.A. Rivera says:

    You know I was thinking the same thing about happiness and religion the other day. I wondered if there were some kind of studies on this but, because I pondered this while showering, I forgot about it. Anyway, it is great to give to the Gods and Spirits. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

