Festival Time


Well folks, it finally looks like it’s happening. There is going to be a full-fledged Hellenic festival next fall sponsored by the folks over at Thessaly Temenos in Louisiana, USA.

I. Am. STOKED.

I don’t care if only five people other than myself show up; I’m really looking forward to meeting some people. I’ve already begun sketching out my banner and ritual wear. Which makes me think: if any of you want to go that do not belong to a temenos or demos, I propose creating one, at least in spirit, for we Areistai. I think it would be pretty cool. I’ve already been working towards this privately, of course, but it would be nice to be semi-official.

Also, for those of you who are considering going, if there is support for it, I wouldn’t mind leading a ritual, especially since the Greater Aresia festival I created should fall near the proposed Thessalian festival. Y’all can vote on it at the bottom if you like. If there’s enough call for it, it would be fun to write a sacred drama of the binding of Ares, with actors representing the gods and all. Armor is part of my ritual wear after all.

That’s all I really have on this right now. Make sure to check out the link and look at all the events they already have planned. Just don’t wet yourselves from excitement. Until then, Hail Ares! 

10 comments on “Festival Time

  1. […] is as Sannion, from House of the Vines, said “WE NEED THIS!” And as Pthelms stated From Aspis of Ares ”I don’t care if only five people other than myself show up; I am really looking […]

  2. […] Helms is considering doing a ritual for Ares at the Hellenic Revival Gathering. He’s conducting a poll to gauge community interest in the rite. I would strongly encourage everyone to vote an emphatic yes. In fact I’d go so far as to say […]

  3. Marybeth says:

    Yes. Yes yes yes yes yes. Also, yes.

  4. sapphosgarden says:

    First off, a hello! Name’s Sarah. I’ve been reading the blogs of several polytheists for a while now and decided it was time to actually try talking to y’all instead of hiding in the corner.

    I don’t know if I’ll be able to go to the festival, but if I go I would love to participate in a ritual for Ares! I haven’t interacted with him much except through Aphrodite, but he deserves a lot more respect from Hellenists.

  5. I’m more of a devotee of Dionysus and Kybele myself, but with two brothers in the military, I’ve become more aware of Ares.

  6. Aldrin says:

    I’ll be oceans away, but I’d love for people to come together for Arês. Send the Lord my love!

  7. I am DEFINITELY going to try to make it! I would absolutely love to attend an Aresian ritual.

  8. […] put on the Ares ritual, which should be pretty decent considering over 30 of you responded to the poll.  In addition, a new Shrine of Ares group has been created on Facebook for you social media-savvy […]

Leave a Reply

