The Bell


The bell is probably the most important element of a fight. It tells us when enough is enough, allows the combatants to take a  break and regain their strength, and lets everyone’s adrenaline fade before it becomes dangerous. Winter is like the bell–it serves as a sort of literal cooling off period. In the ancient world, winter marked the end of war for the year, and in many places, that still holds true in modern warfare, at least in part. Indeed, winter in Afghanistan is relatively quiet compared to spring and fall.

The problem with flame wars and culture wars, like the one between the devotionals/deists and the humanists/archetypalists (as I’m calling everyone for lack of better/more specific vocabulary), is that these conflicts never take a real break. No one is putting their torches and pitchforks. It’s getting old. It’s a big part of the reason I’m not getting involved. There’s a time and place for everything, and now is not the time.

How much more bitching and whining is everyone willing to put up with? The Hellenic Revival festival already fell apart. Are y’all happy about that? I’m not. Am I really surprised, though? Not really. Every time someone tries to make something nice, someone else has to shit on it. That in turn makes all of person A’s friends wait for person B to make something to shit on. It’s like Palestine and Israel. Or Kindergarten.

So ding goes the bell, at least for me. I’m taking a break. I’m going to rest. See y’all April 1st.

5 comments on “The Bell

  1. Aj / Melia says:

    Winter as a bell. I like that analogy. Palestine and Israel analogy is spot on too. I also have not been participating in the mess. It is pointless and a waste of time and energy. I’ve got better things to do.

  2. J_Agathokles says:

    So the festival isn’t going through? What happened?

    • pthelms says:

      Apparently there was a lot of behind-the-scenes drama. The “I’m not going if so-and-so is going” type.

      • J_Agathokles says:

        Ugh. I there’s someone you don’t like, then just avoid them. You don’t have to not go if that person is going to be somewhere. Gods, people are petulant. No wonder I’m an introvert.

  3. Marybeth says:

    I was(am) also pretty devastated about the festival. Fun how everyone else has to suffer because of other peoples’ self-centeredness, isn’t it? Hope you have a good break, though. I’ll be among those missing your posts in the meantime!

Leave a Reply

